8 DVDs to Bide My Time on a Desert Island

Mark Holburn
5 min readJul 19, 2024
Credit: Photo by GEORGE DESIPRIS on Pexels

I thought if I was going to do this twist on a previous writing prompt by Paul Combs then I would not copy anyone else’s selections.

This left me with a huge problem. Paul and I not only agree that Springsteen is the best, but his film likes are so very similar to mine. This meant I had to not only leave out my favourite film The Great Escape, but one of my other favourites Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid. And as well as that I couldn’t choose either Godfather film. Well, the two that matter that is. I was only left with The Godfather Part III and I am sorry but that is not something you would want to treasure on a desert island!

I am thinking of denying Paul Tacos for the rest of the year because of this.

Luckily my other Springsteen buddy Alex Markham came to the rescue with his as ever unique response which inspired me to think outside of the box.

--

--

Mark Holburn

Lover of music, sport, animals, humour, movies and decency. A Level in Film Studies.